Posted by: Mud | September 13, 2009

Dive Bombed

Yesterday morning I decided to head out with the fools to run the Foolish Gerbil 12 Hour Run.  I didn’t exactly have 12 hours to spare, my brother Chris was flying in from London and I needed to pick him up at the airport at 11:00 am.  Since it was a beautiful morning and the run started at 7:00 am, I thought that I could get a few hours in before heading to the airport.

We were running a 12 hour pace so it made for easy running, which I was okay with since I was bagged from a busy week at work.  I had hoped to get in three loops (18 miles) in 3 hours but I ended up having to cut the last loop short so that I could make it to the airport on time, in the end it didn’t matter because Chris’ flight was delayed by an hour.

When I parted way with the fools, I decided to double back on Council, one of my favourite trails in Pacific Spirit Park.  I had decided to speed up the pace because I had energy to burn and it would give me time to grab a shower before heading to the airport which I thought Chris would appreciate.  As I cruised along the trail I was totally lost in my own thoughts and not really paying much attention to anything but the trail ahead and that’s when it happened, a large bird of prey, we’ll say an owl, dive bombed my head.  As the owl’s talons grazed my scalp, it scared the living crap out of me.  I never did get a look at the bird of prey, but it felt big. Plus it sounds way cooler to say you were dive bombed by a bird of prey than a delicate song bird.  To support my story, last year there were signs up around the park warning about a particular owl who had tried to carry away some small dogs and dive bombed some hikers.  I suspect that owl might have been up to its old tricks.  Besides a good scare, I came away from the incident unscathed, not even a scratch from the owl’s razor sharp talons.  I suspect that the owl was just giving me warning to keep on moving so I heeded the warning and picked up the pace and got the hell out of there.

Leave a Reply

Categories

