Posted by: Grub | September 20, 2009

Pre-Game Meal

Blog Pictures 072

You may not be able to tell from this picture, but this is a glass full of awesomeness.  

I didn’t feel like eating anything heavy before my football game today, so I used my trusty Vita-Mix and modified the recipe for a Peanut-Butter Chocolate Shake from The 30 Minute Vegan.  Essentially this involved throwing a frozen banana, peanut butter, soymilk, maple syrup and vanilla into the blender, and then blending it on high for about 45 seconds. Lickety-split.

This was the loveliest, most delicious start to my day.  Unfortunately, the football game wasn’t quite as successful as the shake!  We lost our game today due to a combination of player shortage, player illness and, I think, a bit of an unusual lack of confidence in ourselves.  It was a game some of us would have really liked to win (we played against the team we joined up with a few seasons ago) but we think that on another day things might have been a bit different.   Hopefully we’ll see them in the playoffs!

The post-script to this sad story is that at least I got to drink the leftover shake when I got home to ease the pain of the loss.  And, I think it was even better and creamier after a few hours in the fridge.

Leave a Reply

Categories

