Posted by: Grub | September 24, 2009

Stuffed Delicata Squash

One of my New Year’s resolutions this year was to experiment more in the kitchen but, since that was not a quantifiable enough goal, I wrote down that I would create one new recipe a month.  I did well earlier in the year (OK, in January), working on a vegan version of my friend Shannon’s tropical scones that eventually turned out kind of how I would have liked.  I have tried to throw together a few creations here and there since then, but nothing has really come together in a way that made me feel anything other than ambivalence. 

Well, the times they may be a-changin’.  On Sunday, I was trying to think of what to do with a couple of cute delicata squashes, and I got it in my head that I really wanted some wild rice and pecans stuffed into said squashes.  Fast forward past a few hours that included a good cleaning out of the fridge and the discovery that in fact I did not have any pecans to stuff, and we ended up with these little lovelies:

September 21 09 036

 

Apologies for the terrible photo – the occupational hazards of photographing dinner in the wintertime.

These are stuffed with a mixture of cooked wild rice, sauteed onions, carrots, garlic, red peppers and corn (all from the farmers’ market), walnuts, salt, lemon juice, fresh parsley, and dried thyme, sage and marjoram.  The verdict: they weren’t half bad, and they looked really pretty.  There are a few things I would do differently (including switching out the walnuts for pecans and adding a finely chopped green vegetable, maybe zucchini), so I may try these again for Thanksgiving and see what we can do.   I also just couldn’t get the mixture to taste salty enough without dumping a whole load of salt on top, but I think I have a few strategies on this for next time.  

We also had some steamed green beans on the side, with a miso vinaigrette (not home-made) on top.  I have really gotten down with miso combo dressings on veggies and salads this summer, especially on raw and cooked greens.  Altogether, this meal was about a 7 out of 10, with maybe a bonus half point because my leftover squash half was the perfect size for lunch at work on Monday.

Responses

  1. I love that you rated your recipe and gave yourself a bonus half point:) I think Gary would love it if I cooked like you….I’m a little less exciting.

  2. That sounds like autumn on a plate to me 🙂 YUM!


Leave a Reply

Categories

