Posted by: Grub | October 5, 2009

Run for the Cure 2009

Although you will often find the Mud half of this blogging team posting about food, you will very rarely find the Grub half posting about running.  However, today is one of the two special days in the year that I get to write about running, so here goes!  

This morning, I ran in the Run for the Cure for the third time in the last four years.  It was a glorious sunshine-y fall day here in Vancouver – very crisp and cool, perfect running weather for me.  The run is a very flat 5km, with a trip over the Cambie Street bridge (and a full view of most of the city) at about the 4km mark.  I hadn’t actually gone for a real run since early in March of this year, so I was a bit doubtful about my ability to actually run the whole way. 

PA040007

I had a bit of a rough day yesterday, mostly caused by a football game where the extremely inappropriate and childish behaviour of the opposing players, coaches and fans when they disagreed with a few of the refs’ calls led me to feeling a bit depressed about our future as a species.  (The logic is: if people will act like idiotic three-year-olds at a regular season Division B women’s flag football game on a beautiful sunny Saturday, what are they possibly going to do in a real crisis when the community needs to rely on each other to get through the crisis?  Conclusion: we are doomed.)

To say the least, the run this morning got me back over yesterday’s hump.  The theme of this year’s run was, quite appropriately, “Hope”.  As I got to the base of the Cambie Street bridge as I headed over to the start, and started to see the white t-shirted runners merge into the walking path, I started to feel this lump in my throat.  It only got bigger as we got closer and closer to the start area, as larger groups of people, some in pink feather boas and wigs and carrying pink balloons, converged into a sea of white.  You can see on everyone’s tags who they are running for, and it made me feel really sad to see so many young women running for their grandmothers, mothers running for their daughters, men running for their sisters and wives, women running for their best friends, and even small children running, sometimes just in memory, for their mothers.  At the same time, it was incredibly inspiring to see survivors running with their families and support teams.

PA040006

With energy like this, how could I not run 5k?  The run itself was lovely, steady and smooth, and although at times I got tired, I just let myself think about how much harder it would be to be fighting breast cancer.  As I neared the finish line, I had to blink back a couple of tears, and got a big hug from someone on the “hug squad” at the finish.  (Those people deserve a medal, because if anyone else out there was as sweaty as me, they had a messy job!)

For anyone who has ever considered running in this event, I would highly recommend it.  It is extremely well organized and such an important cause, and there is such amazing, positive, HOPEFUL energy.  With all of these caring people out there in the world, maybe there is hope for us after all.

Leave a Reply

Categories

