Posted by: Grub | October 12, 2009

SICK

So, I am sick. As sick as I can remember being in a long time.

On Saturday night I started feeling kind of off, and had weird aches and pains all over my body. I woke up at about 2am Sunday morning because my head and my whole body hurt so much I couldn’t sleep. Despite numerous attempts at self-medicating throughout the day, I couldn’t get my headache or my lower back, neck and leg pain to do any more than subside a little for about an hour. Although I am feeling a bit less painful today (thank you Mr. Extra-Strength Ibuprofen for a full night’s sleep), I still have a dry cough and sore lungs and a bit of a stuffy nose.

I know it could be worse – although I have been battling the chills all weekend, I don’t really have a fever, and my digestive system seems fine (knock on wood). I am just kind of sad, because I was supposed to go over to the Island yesterday to see my sister and her family, and I was also planning to spend a fair amount of time this weekend cooking and drinking wine and relaxing with a good book. (I was so miserable yesterday I couldn’t even read!! That has NEVER happened to me.)

IMG_0040

Chad took pity on me and made me my favourite under-the-weather soup for supper last night – this recipe from Veganomicon, my favourite cookbook. You really have to try this recipe. I always thought miso was kind of a weird ingredient, until I tried it in this soup, and now there is nothing I really crave more when I am sick than hot miso broth. It cleared my head and made my sore throat feel better, and the noodles make it pure comfort food.  Trust me and try this next time you are feeling flu-ish.  Although the recipe calls for brown rice miso, which can be harder to find here in Canada, plain white miso would also do the trick (or really any kind of miso you can find).

Responses

  1. Oh no, what a terrible way to spend a long weekend! I hope you feel better soon.


Leave a Reply

Categories

