Posted by: Grub | October 15, 2009

Cookbook Challenge #2

I completed Cookbook Challenge #2 last week, but just haven’t had time to post about it yet.  The cookbook was “You Won’t Believe It’s Vegan” by Lacey Sher and Gail Doherty. 

You Won't Believe It's Vegan

This is one of two books I bought in Hawaii in January, but so far I had not tried anything in it.  The recipe that most caught my eye when I first picked it up off the shelf at the bookstore was the Blue Corn Hempeh (tempeh strips dipped in a mustard cream and then crusted with cornmeal, crushed blue corn chips and hemp seeds), and so it was on the docket for this cookbook challenge. 

October 12, 2009 040

In addition to the Blue Corn Hempeh, I made the suggested Yellow Mustard Sauce and Tomato Pudding with mashed potatoes and sauteed greens (I used collards).  We loved the tempeh strips – the outsides were crunchy and tasty and they really complemented the nuttiness of the tempeh – and the accompanying mustard sauce is something I definitely will use again on other meals.  I wasn’t a huge fan of the tomato pudding, but this was an example of a recipe where I already knew I probably wouldn’t like it (I have a weird thing about not mixing sweets and savories) and yet went ahead and made it anyways.  So, probably it is a good recipe (Chad liked it) but it just wasn’t my thing.  I also didn’t make the best greens ever – I used the leftover tempeh soaking broth to braise the greens since I was out of garlic, and although the greens were a good consistency, I just didn’t like the broth on them (we were out of tamari and so I used Braggs, and I think this was the root of the problem).  Oh well, live and learn.


Leave a comment

Categories