Posted by: Grub | January 10, 2010

Prague

So this is mostly just going to be a post of pictures, with some short descriptions.  There was so much to do and see in Prague, and we were there for 6 days, so to write about everything would take two years. 

The long and short of our trip to Prague was that Chad was attending and presenting at a leadership conference that was being held there.  I had heard a lot of wonderful things about Prague, but just wasn’t entirely convinced that I was going to love it as much as I was told.  Well, I did.  And I think that it is now my favourite European city (sorry, Paris)!  We were very lucky that our good friends David and Kim also made the trip, and so while Kim and Chad were attending the conference, David and I got to keep each other company (and enjoy a few lovely long lunches) as we wandered and explored around the city.  We then got to meet up with the rest of the team at the end of the day for dinner and to recap our respective days. 

View of the Castle from the Conference Hotel

We arrived in Prague late at night and so didn’t get to see much as we drove into our hotel in the dark.  I was struck immediately once we entered the Old Town by the winding cobblestone streets – I wasn’t sure how I was ever going to find my way around!  Our hotel was beautiful, and directly across the alley from a 1500’s-era cathedral. 

Church of Our Lady Before Tyn, from our hotel room window

Our hotel was right off of the famous Old Town Square, where we enjoyed walking many times a day.  Despite the shacks roasting whole pigs, there were lots of interesting things to see and always a buzz of activity.  We did do the required stop in front of the astronomical clock on the hour – as we had heard, it was anti-climactic, but the clock itself was gorgeous. 

Old Town Square

Czech Beer in the Old Town Square

Astronomical Clock

On the first day, we mostly just wandered around and got acquainted with our neighbourhood, and then the conference started the next day.  David and I spent the next few days hitting up a bunch of the sights in the city, and did a lot of walking in the process!

In Mala Strana

Fred & Ginger (the Dancing Building)

Square at Church of St. Nicholas

We had been in Paris for the 20th anniversary of the collapse of the Berlin Wall (and with my rusty French, I was actually asked if I was German one day!), and were also in Prague for the 20th anniversary of the Velvet Revolution, the symbolic fall of Communism in the Czech Republic.  There was lots of information around town for us to read up on our history, and David and I visited both the Communist Museum and the Memorial to the Victims of Communism.  It was certainly a powerful feeling to be travelling and sitting in these historic places. 

Memorial to the Victims of Communism

St. Wencelas Square

One of the things that I loved the most about the city (at least the touristy areas that we were in) was the decoration and ornamentation on every business and building and the public art. 

Off Old Town Square

Marionette Theatre - Death

Horse (Cerny statue)

Creepy toys in shop in Hradcany

I love these two photos that I took of a statue of Johannes Kepler and Tycho Brahe after we had gotten off the street car near the Loreto (yes, I am a science nerd).  The second one especially, where Kepler is looking up as if at the stars.

Statue of Kepler and Brahe

Statue of Kepler and Brahe 2

Last but not least, we went up to the castle late at night, and although it was spectacular, it was pretty hard to take decent photos.  This one isn’t even decent, but I will include it anyways!

St. Vitus Cathedral

I am going to try to post some of the rest of my favourite pictures on Flickr, because there are lots that I liked, but just not enough room here to post them all!

Long and short of it, Prague was amazing!  I felt perfectly safe there wandering around on my own and there was always something to see and do.  Although I didn’t take any great pictures, the food was also very good and I had no problem at all finding tasty vegan fare (there were two all-veg resturants within a 2 minute walk of our hotel).  I would highly recommend a trip to Prague to anyone of any age – there would be lots for kids to see, and plenty of nightclubs if that is your scene as well.  I can’t wait to go back!

Responses

  1. Wow! I can see why you loved it!

  2. Yay finally the Prague photos!!! They look absolutely amazing – almost worth the wait:-)!!!

  3. I also loved Prague and looking at your beautiful pictures brought back some memories:)

  4. Wow, Prague looks so beautiful! I’m glad you had such a wonderful time.


Leave a Reply

Categories

