Posted by: Grub | May 4, 2011

Finally a sunny day…

When we woke up this morning, the sun was shining when it wasn’t supposed to be. We decided to capitalize on our luck and headed down to Granville Island for a little looky-loo. Granville Island has been on my list of things to do for a while now, and I figured today was as good a time as any to take Sam down – good weather, but not tourist season yet.

I tried really hard to get some good photos of Sam today, as well as some of Sam and I together, but the light was too bright in the sun and too dark in the shade, so I only got a few I kind of liked. The other complicating factor was that Sam was so, SO interested in the birds roaming freely around the island, even the camera wasn’t holding his interest.  When he did look at me, it was with this look of sheer exasperation, a look that I hoped I wouldn’t have to see until he was at least two years old*.

It's a duck! Mom. Are you seeing this? A DUCK!

We picked up some fun things, both food and otherwise, and got lots of attention from Sam’s ever-adoring fans.  It is still amazing to me how people will just stop right in the middle of a sentence, in the middle of walking, in the middle of an aisle, and drop down to the ground to start talking to him.  It is also amazing to think that almost everyday, we make connections with people that I would never have otherwise interacted with, and that these encounters seem to bring just a little bit of joy to everyone involved. Oh, babies!

We capped off the trip sitting out on the back deck of the market, listening to a lone guitarist and eating a delicious and fresh-tasting taco salad.  It was just lovely.  Even though I was the one eating, several different varieties of birds came walking right up to Sam’s stroller to check him out, as if they could tell that he was a kindred spirit, and he thought it was pretty much the best thing ever.  He kept looking up at me as if to say “do you see this? is this for real?”.  Best face ever.

I’m hoping we’ll get back to Granville Island before I have to get back to work, but we are definitely verging on the “crowds of craziness” days already.  It was a bit of a zoo there today, and we saw at least four or five tour buses.

*Speaking of things I hope I won’t have to see until Sam is at least two years old… when we were looking at the ducks on the water, a little boy who looked to be, oh, about two years old, was having a massive screaming tantrum in the middle of the grassy area we were parked on. He screamed the entire time we were there taking photos and watching the birds. It was one constant, unending scream – I have no idea how he was even breathing. We were there for at least ten minutes and he was still screaming as we rolled away. His poor mom gave me a look and a shrug that seemed to say “what can you do?”, but I think she was probably about ready to cry. Whew. I am going to just enjoy “eight-months-old” while I can!

Leave a Reply

Categories

