Posted by: Grub | May 10, 2011

Write Every Day

If you read our blog with any kind of regularity, you may have noticed that I have been blogging a bit more frequently lately.  Well, here’s why.

For the month of March, my book club chose to read the book, The Happiness Project, by Gretchen Rubin. For those that have never heard of the book, Ms. Rubin sets out to see if she can increase her overall happiness by, among other things, choosing to set resolutions relating to a different area of her life each month.

I quite enjoyed reading this book, as it made me think a lot about my own life and the places where I could make incremental changes that would lead to greater overall happiness. As I was reading, it occurred to me that I often think that certain things will make me happy if I could just get in the habit of doing them (Ms. Rubin actually touches on this later on in the book), but for some reason, they are not habits I have ever been able to make stick. One night, I sat down and started brainstorming a list of these kinds of things, which quickly evolved into a list of “good habits” that I think I should have, along with a list of specific goals relating to those good habits. The list became pretty long pretty quickly (so much desire for self-improvement, so little time!), and so I am going to make an effort to try out one item on the list each week for the next year or so to see if, in fact, I am missing out on something. If all goes well, I will try to blog about these once a week.  I am still trying to decide on a day to do this – Sunday feels like a natural starting point for good habits (sometimes I need a weekend day to prepare), but blogging at the end of the week on a Saturday night doesn’t feel quite right.  I am open to suggestions.

The item on my good habits list that I feel the most strongly about, and the first one that I have been trying to implement, is: Write. Every day.  Although this does not necessarily mean publish a blog post every day, it is mostly how I have kept myself on track this past week.

When I was much, much younger, I thought I wanted to be a Writer* when I grew up, but, even at eight years old, it seemed like it would involve too much uncertainty and financial struggle. (I had actual visions of cold, candlelit basement apartments with Kraft Dinner on a camp stove – a little melodramatic, I know).  Ever since I can remember, I have been pretty much constantly writing and rewriting in my head as I travel through life, yet it is only rarely that most of that writing ever sees the light of day.   I am lucky to be able to write quickly (hello, overnight undergraduate thesis!), and when I come back to reread what I have written months or even mere weeks later, I often don’t remember writing significant chunks of it.  I am also typically happier with it than I actually felt when I was writing it in the moment.

One of the most amazing parts of being on maternity leave has been feeling a real reawakening of my personal creativity in pretty much every area of my life, and so it seems like a good time to consciously set some time aside in my day, every day, to get some thoughts out on paper and into the world. Some of it may show up here on our blog, and some of it may just hang around on our hard drive for future consideration.

I know that many of the women in our book group were inspired to think about ways of increasing their happiness after reading The Happiness Project, and so I would recommend giving it a read if you are feeling like you are in a bit of a rut or like you could use a happiness boost.  I’m very interested to hear what others are doing to intentionally increase their happiness, if you are interested in sharing.  (I’d also love to hear if there is anything you would be interested in reading – one of my greatest impediments to writing more often is coming up with interesting things to write about!)

So, we’ll see if writing every day is something that will stick and will make me feel happier overall, or if it just one of those things that I think will make me happier and therefore yearn for pointlessly.  So far, I have been enjoying it a lot, but it has also started an overwhelming overflow of thoughts and things that I want to get out on paper. I find I am constantly writing in my head right now, even when it is not convenient to stop and get it all down.  I guess that is a good thing, but I will be interested to see if it eventually normalizes.  Hopefully, this is the start of something good that can be an outlet for some of the creative energy that gets permanently blocked up behind late-night drafting sessions and deal stress.  I’m looking forward to finding out.

Have a nice week everyone – may you write something that you makes you feel happy this week!

* Capitalized to differentiate between the enormous group of people who are writers in their day-to-day work and personal lives, and that much smaller group of people, Writers, who have actually dedicated their life’s passion to writing and rely on it, at least in part, to pay their bills.  And who eat Kraft Dinner in dark, cold rooms.

Responses

  1. I enjoy reading everything you write!


Leave a Reply

Categories

