Posted by: Grub | June 20, 2011

Day Three – Shopping and Seattle

So, this post was actually written on time, but I didn’t get a chance to download photos into WordPress and post it on time, so where it says “yesterday”, please assume that it means “Friday”.

My parents, Sam and I started out our day yesterday with a really fantastic breakfast at the Old Town Café in Bellingham. I had never heard of this place before, but am really glad that we went to check it out. It was surprisingly busy for a Friday morning at 9:15am, but after a relatively short wait (hey, we live in Vancouver), we were seated at a cozy little booth.

Yum yum yum

My meal was amazing – cumin and chili pepper dusted fried tofu cubes topped with salsa and avocado slices, served with corn tortillas and black beans. The tofu may have been my favourite tofu ever. Chad would have loved it if he had been with us, I think. Sam also ordered his first kids meal ever – oatmeal with currants and soymilk, with a little maple syrup on the side. He was tricky – he refused to eat any of it, so I poured on the maple syrup so that I could at least eat some, and then he suddenly showed some interest once the maple syrup was on top! To be fair to him, he actually balked at it a little at first, which I suspect was because he isn’t used to the sweet stuff.  He also happily chewed away on some toast cubes.

We then headed out to the outlet malls just north of Everett, so that my Mom, the consummate shopper, could get some serious shop on. The parking lot was already packed, so I am guessing the borders yesterday must have been a nightmare. We picked up a few things, including a couple of fun swim outfits for Sam, who has definitely outgrown his first swim suit already. Sam got sick of shopping pretty quickly, and so he and grandpa spent some quality time out at a kids playground equipment kiosk.

I wonder how this would taste! (Spoiler alert: he thought it tasted pretty good.)

Once we were all shopped out, we headed south to our hotel in Lynnwood. It was a Marriott Residence Inn, which I only note because it was so perfect for our little team. Split level, with loft bedroom upstairs and full bedroom downstairs, and a full kitchen. We had originally planned to head into Seattle to eat, but the traffic was already terrible at 3:30pm, so we decided instead to head over to Trader Joe’s (sweet!) to pick up groceries.

Nice digs, mom!

We had delicious pasta for dinner, with tomato sauce and pan-fried veggies. I also picked up a pack of organic 3-grain tempeh from TJ’s, which I grated and then pan-fried with a little oil and a couple of splashes of soy sauce. As a side note, I think I might want to move to the United States just for the tempeh – we paid $1.69 for awesome, fresh organic tempeh and I pay at last $3.99 at home for the same amount that isn’t as good. C’mon, Canada! Get on it with the tempeh already! Anyways, we each stirred the tempeh into our own portions according to how much we wanted, and I think Mom and Dad both liked it, too.

And, guess who else liked it? Sam Hyson, that’s who. After finishing a full bowl of bananas, blueberries, yogurt and rice cereal, as well as a handful of cheerios, Sam started yelling at me for more food. So I mashed up some pasta and veggies and sauce and tempeh, and he gobbled it up. He also ate a couple of little bites of bread with Earth Balance on it, although I think he didn’t like the texture of the fresh bread (he has definitely enjoyed toast better in the past). That kid will apparently eat just about anything.

Dinner at the table with grandma and grandpa

Tempeh and pasta and veggies and tomato sauce are DEE-licious!

So, that’s about it for yesterday. Chad arrived at about 10pm, safe and sound. Sam was so tired at the end of the night (he finally went to sleep about fifteen minutes before Chad arrived), and he actually slept in the Pack and Play by himself for at least four hours in a row without waking up. I guess all that shopping really tuckered him out.

Leave a Reply

Categories

