Posted by: Grub | September 6, 2011

Baking Bread the Modern Way

One of the things on my 37 before 37 list is to bake bread.  When I originally came up with this one, I intended “bake bread” to mean bake a fancy loaf of bread with yeast, that I have to knead and let rise.  Well, cooking around here has become an exercise in “what is the fastest way to get from A to B?”, and so I decided to break out my bread maker and try out a few recipes.

This oatmeal nut loaf, my first test run in at least a few years and definitely my first vegan loaf, turned out pretty great.  Chad has said that he would eat it again (duh).

We have been using it up making deluxe sandwiches – one of them is pictured below.  Slices of homemade chicken-style seitan roast (from Vegan Diner, a contender for my favourite new cookbook of the year), avocado, red leaf lettuce and juicy late summer tomatoes, with a little smear of Vegenaise for me and mustard for Chad.  So luxurious.  The bread is soft and nutty, with a slight sweetness.

I was too hungry to get a decent shot before I bit it into this. Oops. So worth it.

I am going to allow myself to cross this item off of my list, but I am hoping to get to the “real stuff” before my birthday rolls around.  I am also going to try to test a few more bread machine recipes, so that I can try to keep us in healthy bread once things get crazy (back to work two weeks today – we are well on our way!)

I was asked for the recipe, so thought I would share it here.  I adapted it from a recipe that came with my bread machine (a Black and Decker horizontal breadmaker).

Oatmeal Nut Bread (makes one 2 pound loaf)

1 1/4 cups lukewarm water
2 tbsp soymilk powder
1 1/4 tsp salt
2 tbsp agave nectar
2 tbsp vegan margarine (I used Earth Balance)
1 cup whole wheat flour
1 3/4 cups white flour
1/3 cup quick oats
1 3/4 tsp bread machine yeast
1/2 cup coarsely chopped walnuts

1. Measure all of the ingredients in the order listed into the baking pan. Insert baking pan into breadmaker and close lid.
2. Select “GRAIN” setting and 2.0 pound loaf setting (or other appropriate settings if your breadmaker is different).
3. Start bread machine.  Remove once the bread has fully baked.
4. Allow to cool before slicing.

Note: This bread was extremely soft when it first came out of the machine, so I would definitely recommend letting it cool, or cutting it quite thickly otherwise.  Also, keep your tomatoes separate from the bread (by a layer of vegan mayo, a lettuce leaf or sliced avocado) or it may fall apart on you!

Another note:  The recipe actually calls for you to add the walnuts at a specific time in the bread cycle, but I didn’t want to get up at 5am to do that, so I just added them at the beginning.  If you decide to add them later in the cycle, you might want to chop the walnuts a bit more finely.

Responses

  1. Will you please please please come cook for me again dear Sister Wife??? That looks so amazing. I’ve fallen off the cooking bandwagon, BTW. My run lasted about two weeks…perhaps I’ll pick it up again now that grilling season is over. Miss you and hugs for the boys.


Leave a Reply

Categories

