Posted by: Grub | October 3, 2011

Vegan MOFO

So, there’s this thing called Vegan MOFO. It is kind of like NaNoWriMo, but the idea is to blog about vegan food for a whole month. I have been wanting to participate ever since the first year that it started, and this year is Vegan MOFO V (I suck). This year I really felt like I needed to either do it, or stop dreaming about doing it… but then I chickened out and didn’t sign up for the official list. (Just to give you some context, last year there were something like 700 blogs on this list and they were all linked to a feed so that you could read every single one of them every time they posted. This seemed a little bit daunting to me.)

However, my research has assured me that I can still participate, and so I think I am going to try to do it.  The (highly encouraged) commitment level is 20 posts in a month, which works out to pretty much every weekday.  Do you think I can do it? I would like to think so, but life isn’t always as predictable as I would like.  At the same time, I am feeling like I need to stop thinking about doing things, and at least TRY to do them, whether or not I think I may fail.  This is a really big step for me.

So, starting tomorrow, I am going to try to post every weekday.  My plan is to have some themed days of the week, but I haven’t actually settled on all five themes yet, so you will have to wait to find out what they are. I am considering including “Top Ten Tuesdays”, “What We Ate”, “Wild Card Fridays”, something about Sam and his food, maybe standard vegan ingredients, and also something about veganizing things that I ate “before”.  Some of these posts will be about things I have been working on before this month but just haven’t had time to share on this blog.  I am also open to suggestions – if you have anything at all that you are interested in reading about, let me know in the comments and I will try to work it in.  (Kori, if you haven’t given up on me, I am planning to write something about tempeh, but haven’t yet figured out if I have enough for a whole post just on tempeh!)

Wish me luck – I really do hope that I can pull this off.  In the meantime, I figure I should post something about food. So, here is something really wonderful that I ate when we were in Boulder, Colorado in August.  We were at a restaurant called V.G. Burgers that bills itself as vegan fast food – we had veggie burgers and fries that were quite good, but this hot fudge sundae was definitely my highlight. It was stink hot in Boulder this day, and this was pretty much exactly what I needed after lunch.  It was freaking amazing. Sam and I shared, and as you can see, he approved.

More, please.

(As a side note, when we were at Millenium in San Francisco in June, Sam wanted nothing to do with the fancy schmancy ridiculously delicious mint brownie sundae that I had there.  This old school version two months later, however, was right up his alley. My kind of kid.)

This counts as a post, right? 🙂

Responses

  1. That sundae looks yummy! Good luck with trying to post almost everyday – life is going to be busy. Love, Mom & Dad

  2. You CAN do it! 🙂 And I will read every one.


Leave a Reply

Categories

