Posted by: Grub | October 11, 2011

Happy Thanksgiving!

My apologies right off the bat for the dark, awful, yellow photos in this post, but we ate Thanksgiving dinner well after dark, and although I planned to take some natural light photos with leftovers today, we decided to save the leftovers for dinner tomorrow night, so… crappy photos. Oh well.

We started cooking last night at 5:40pm and were eating dessert by 10:30pm, so I feel like we had a successful meal. We had decided ahead of time that we didn’t want to do anything too fancy, but that we did want to have the traditional components of our Thanksgiving meal.

This was actually really easy meal to put together – the only real difficulty was trying to juggle everything that had to go in the oven. It would have been easier if I had pan-fried the chickpea cutlets rather than baking them, but we prefer them baked. All of these recipes are tried and true for us, and I think are all in our past holiday cookbooks, if you have those.

Clockwise from the front left: Chickpea cutlet with punk rock chickpea gravy, mashed potatoes, roasted delicata squash and roasted garlic Brussels sprouts

The only new item on the plate this year was our dessert – I wanted something pumpkin-based that was quick and easy and didn’t require any soaking, chilling or lengthy setting times.  This recipe for crustless mini pumpkin pies fit the bill perfectly.  The one problem I had with the pies was that I found them overly spiced – I used a premixed pumpkin pie spice and I think that next time around I would mix up my own and gradually up the spices to taste.  But, I loved the sweet nutty topping, and the pumpkin custard was good too, so this will definitely make another appearance on our table.

Mini. Pumpkin. Pie. Toasted pecans. Yum.

In addition to it being Thanksgiving, Sam “turned” 14 months this weekend. Here is a quick photo of him enjoying a little bowl of macaroni and cheese tonight.  He is harder to catch with the camera these days – a combination of him being less interested in the camera and more interested in just about everything else around him.  Even when he is strapped in to his highchair, he would much rather be checking out other stuff than posing for the camera.  Luckily, I got this winning smile out of him before he dove right into the pasta.

There are so many things I am thankful for this year, but I saw this posted on a friend’s Facebook page, and, other than the obvious good stuff in my life, it sums up many of the general things pretty well.  Happy Thanksgiving to everyone – hope you were all able to eat a delicious meal with family and friends over the long weekend!

Responses

  1. Happy Thanksgiving!


Leave a Reply

Categories

